Posted by: leebase | April 13, 2012

Less of Lee

Ok…I’m publicly committing.  Today I start my journey of becoming less.  More important than losing weight, is becoming healthy.

I had ear surgery last week and a rather bad time coming out of anesthesia. A VERY unpleasant night in the hospital has convinced me I don’t want to spend time in such places. Which made me think of my weight and how likely I’ll be spending time in hospitals.

So, at 47 years old, 309lbs, with a 55″ belly (no use measuring my alleged waist)…it’s time to get serious about making a lifestyle change and getting  healthy.This is my blog about my journey.  Feel free to participate via the comments.  Much of what I write will be me talking to myself, reminding myself about why I’m doing what I’m doing.   I’ve never lacked for knowledge.  I’ve attempted diets before, read lots of books.  I’m certainly not speaking as an expert or giving out advice.  I’m not presenting “the best way” or telling anyone else to do what I do.

I’ve lost weight with low carb diets in the past.  I’ve read a good number of books on the topic.  Have an affinity for the blood sugar/insulin cycle as it relates to weight.  However, I just do not think I’m up for that at this point.  I’ve chosen Weight Watchers Online as my method.  I’ve heard good things, and have family members who are doing well on the program.  It feels much more like “changing my eating” than “going on a diet”.

My ultimate goal is to lose 130lbs.  Of course, that’s too big of a goal, so my first goal is to lose 5% of my size…which is to get to 293.5.

All encouragement is welcome.

Responses

  1. Good Luck Lee. You’re right to not think of it as a diet, but a way to change your eating habits. My husband and I started on WW 2 months ago. He has lost 12lbs, me only 6, but we forge ahead. It is more about being accountable & portion control. We did feel deprived at first, but it gets better. I get mad because he gets more points to eat than I do! Our main reason was health also, mostly his as we felt his doc was leaning towards diabetes. So he lost 10lbs right away & blood work came back beautiful! It is doable. Just remember, you didn’t put it on in a month, so it ain’t coming off in a month. Again..good luck!

    • Good luck to you and hubby as well.

  2. It’s awesome that you’re doing this Lee. My husband and I are on the same journey. We’re both doing different things… but we’re determined to get healthy as well. Keep focused on the positive things you’ll see. I think the hardest thing is changing the habits, eating when you’re bored.

    • Keeping up with things…always tough. Had a good first day 🙂

  3. “Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back– Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth that ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now.”

    • Who is that a quote of…great quote.

  4. Lee, that’s awesome you are resolved to make this life change. I have lost 30 pounds since August and brought my cholesterol into the appropriate levels. I know that the most important step is to choose to change, so way to be! Take care brother.
    Also, myfitnesspal is an awesome app for calorie counting but it sounds like you are set up with a good program through WW.

    • Thanks Erik. My wife is using MyFitnessPal (we’re too cheap to pony up for 2 WW Online accounts)

  5. Hello! I am so proud to have you Dear Uncle! Can’t wait to read more of your blog. May I suggest mindfulness and completion for your journey? Be fully present at every meal, conversation, cleaning the house, work projects, even making your bed. Those daily rhythms and mini to do list things will provide closure and completion…helping you meet and feel good about accomplishing your larger goals. Love you! ~Jess

    • Hi Jess,

      Thanks for the encouragement. We’ll have to talk so time and you can tell me more about what it means to be “mindful”. 🙂

      Lee

  6. […] can refer to the first post in my blog to learn why I finally started on my journey to health and fitness. Consider, though, that I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

