Posted by: leebase | April 14, 2012

I Can Wait 20

   20 minutes.   That’s what I have to tell myself after I’ve eaten a proper portion of food.  Proper amount, as opposed to the “eat until I’m full” amount.  For some cruel reason, our bodies take 20 minutes to figure out we’ve had enough to eat and send the “you’re full” signal to our brains.

This 20 minute rule seems to be talked about everywhere, but I couldn’t find a decent definitive article to link to.  However, I can attest that it’s true for me.  If I wait a mere 20 minutes or so after eating reasonable portions, I do feel full.  Not that “fall asleep, stuffed” feeling that I so enjoy, but I’m actually, decently full.

I can bear a 20 minute wait.  It’s not like I’m having to go hungry all the time.  I just have to remind myself to eat a good portion of food and then just wait 20 minutes.  If after that amount of time I’m still hungry, then I’ll eat some more.   I also drink water as it helps with the feeling of fullness.

20 minutes…I’m strong enough to wait for 20 minutes.

Responses

  1. Good luck Lee! I will be interested in how weight watchers online works for you! I also need to lost about 35 pounds!

    • Thanks Rebecca


Leave a Reply

Categories

