Posted by: leebase | April 27, 2012

Weight Watchers…Really?

View on a Walk
I thought I’d give some of my thoughts on Weight Watchers.  A couple caveats.  I am not trying to convince anyone else that WW is for them, or is the best or anything of the kind.

I’ve tried many approaches in the past.  Herbalife when I was in college.  Atkins, and various other forms of low-carb (Protein Power, Sugar Busters, South Beach).  I even bought a months worth of Nutri-Systems which was a huge waste of money.  I actually like and agree with the low-carb way.  It’s just very hard, particularly planning and shopping.  With my new job and the traveling I do, I just didn’t think I could do it.

I had made a commitment to lose weight, all the way back to “not overweight”.  For me, that’s losing 130lbs.   But a commitment without a plan is pretty much just wishful thinking.  I decided to try WW, frankly, for no particular reason other than hearing they had a new online method.  I had (and still have) no real interest in attending meetings.  I had heard news reports that rated WW as the best of the plans.  Though not by much, and all have dismal records.  Still, a plan is better than not having a plan at all.

I have been so very surprised at how much I like the WW way.  No special foods to buy.   I can still eat all my favorite foods, just not as much or as often.  Today is the first day of my 3rd week and I haven’t felt deprived at all.  It hasn’t been hard for me.  And I’m losing weight.

Everyone knows that to lose weight you have to burn more calories than you eat.  Guess what?  That’s the WW plan.  You track all the food you eat.  Instead of calories, WW has a formula taking into account protein, carbs, fat and fiber and calls them “Points Plus”.  You enter your age, weight and height, and you are given a daily PP amount.  You are also given a weekly stash of points to use for treats and overages.  Finally, you record your exercise and get points that you can use for food.

You can eat all the points, and should – and you’ll lose .5 to 2lbs per week.  Over time.  On average.  That’s it.

They have web tools, and smart phone/tablet apps to make tracking the points a breeze.  Perfect for someone natured the way I am.  Their website is chock full of articles on healthy eating, recipes, and fitness articles.  Lots of success story accounts that help keep you motivated.  There are also online communities where you can talk with others and learn from each other.

My sister isn’t an “online” type of person and so she goes to the meetings.  It’s not particularly cheap, though.  I’m sure that the amount of junk food I’m not eating more than pays for my online account.  Still, my wife is doing the same thing I am, only using a free app called MyFitnessPal.  It’s a calorie counting app/website.  She’s losing weight as well.  For me, I’m quite happy with WW and prepaid for 4 months.  I’ll reevaluate at the end of four months.

I don’t want to come off as selling WW. But I have to say I am thrilled. I feel like I have the plan that is truly going to get me back to a healthy, normal weight.

Leave a Reply

Categories

