Posted by: leebase | April 28, 2012

Cooking Helps

View on a Walk

I began cooking in earnest only a couple years ago. Wifey was trying to reenter the work force, and it’s only fair that I pitch in and help more around the house. I chose cooking. Like anything, I dove in with both feet. Started watching the cooking shows, buying a few kitchen gadgets (love my ceramic chef’s knife) and watching the Food Network shows.

In all that, I somehow never got around to roasting vegetables. I wasn’t even sure what “roasting” vegetables was, so today I looked it up. So easy. Just cut up some vegetables, put them on a cookie sheet, drizzle olive oil, salt and pepper, and cook on 400 degrees for 30 minutes. I had been stuck for a few years with the holy trinity of vegetables: bell peppers, onions and mushrooms. Most everything I cook somehow uses those three vegetables. It was time to expand my palate, and to do a better job of meeting the Healthy Guidelines.

Off I went to our local Fresh Market and I bought zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, onion, broccoli and small red potatoes. A few minutes of chopping, and drizzling the oil and adding the seasonings was all it took. Very easy.

I also made a batch of fresh homemade salsa. My beloved tortilla chips are something I can only eat few and far between . Salsa is versatile and I decided to use it as a garnish on top of some grilled pork loins.

Take a look at the photo – it was a nice delicious meal, and very easy to make, and VERY low points. I even had seconds on the veggies.

Leave a Reply

Categories

