Posted by: leebase | June 19, 2012

The Challenge of Eating Healthy On the Road

I travel for a living.  I am on week 8 of a 9 week unbroken stretch of being on the road Mon-Fri.  No doubt, it’s a real challenge to eat well when you are eating at restaurants 3 meals a day, 5 days a week.

Portion control can help with the calories.  Still, there’s more to getting healthy than just eating fewer calories.  You need to eat better food.   I was working in Milwaukee for a year, and stayed at a Residence Inn…which have kitchens.  I shopped for groceries on Monday and cooked for myself all week.  That’s a luxury I normally don’t get on the road.

Take today.  I had scrambled eggs, oatmeal and milk from McDonald’s for breakfast.  Not a bad breakfast.  For lunch I hit a Mexican place and had an enchilada, quesadilla and refried beans.  Can’t have that every day, but it’s a nice treat for me.  Dinner was a cup of soup, half a Reuben sandwich and half an order of fries.  All in all, I stayed within my calorie goal…plus I walked for an hour in the evening.

However, that’s not a healthy diet.   I’m staying at a Holiday Inn…no kitchen, no stove, no microwave.  I do have a fridge, because I asked for one.  On Monday’s after work I go to a local food mart and buy veggies and fruit that don’t have to be cooked.  Tomatoes and cucumbers, apples, bananas, peaches (I love summer), greek yogurt and Diet Mt. Dew (so sue me…everything I do isn’t healthy).

I pack a knife and a peeler, salt and pepper, a couple plastic plates.  Just about to go cut me up a tomato and have my evening vegetable.  I take the fruit and yogurt to work to have as in between meal snacks.

In the last 5 weeks I’ve been on the road, I’ve lost 13lbs.  Traveling certainly gives rise to challenges for healthy eating and weight loss.  That’s all they are, though, challenges.  It takes a little creativity, but they are overcome-able.  This week I’m down 3lbs for a total of 28lbs Less of Lee.

Share some of your own tips for healthy living on the road via the comments.  Would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

