Posted by: leebase | August 15, 2012

The Battle Starts in the Mind

Just finished up my first four months on this journey. Starting at 309 on April 9, I’m down to 261 for 48lbs Less of Lee. Equally exciting there are 7” less around Lee’s belly and waist.

As folks who’ve followed my blog know, it took a very unpleasant night in the hospital (not weight related) to get me serious about making this change in my weight and health. From that moment on, it has been a matter of doing the small things every day. Eat better, start exercising.

However, a mere two months before I had a very different mindset. It was Feb of this year and I got tired of reaching into my closet only to pick out a shirt or pair of pants that wouldn’t fit. So I took a Saturday afternoon and put on everything in my closet…and removed all of the items that no longer fit. I gave them to my wife to get rid of “honey, I’m never going to be able to wear these clothes again”. Two months before I started losing weight, I threw away clothes because I had no intention of making that change, had no belief that I even could.

I taught a class this past Sunday and the theme scripture was 2 Cor. 10:5 which says “…and we take captive every thought and make it obedient to Christ”. Now it’s certainly not a scripture about weight loss, but it underscored the notion that we must first defeat the wrong ideas in our heads.

So many of my friends and family are currently stuck where I was…without confidence that they really can make the kind of changes needed to lose weight and get healthy. Before one can make progress in the body, one needs to battle the negative thoughts and attitudes of one’s mind.

Or…you could simply wait until you have your own really bad night in a hospital.

I’ve started recording short podcasts. Haven’t put them on iTunes yet, but you can listen to the two I’ve recorded on this topic.

Win the Battle in Your Mind

Win the Battle in Your Mind II

Leave a Reply

Categories

