Posted by: leebase | September 1, 2012

50lbs Less of Lee

I hit a pretty big milestone this week. There are now 50lbs Less of Lee. 52, actually. As I write this I’m wearing a T-Shirt sized XL. When I started I was wearing XXL-Tall. My waist has gone from 48 to 41 inches.

This was also the big week of my company’s annual consultant’s forum. Last April I had announced on a company board that I was going to lose weight and among my goals was to arrive at the forum having lost 25lbs. Was very happy to have doubled my goal. My fellow coworkers, many whom I’d never met, but who had followed my postings/blog, came up to me to cheer my success. It was encouraging.

More inspiring are a couple folks who are using my success to fuel their own efforts to begin their own journeys to lose weight, get fit and healthy. I was kind of embarrassed and felt a bit exposed to talk to folks in “real life” about my journey. But it is absolutely fantastic that my being open has been an encouragement to others. Let’s face it, it’s a very common thing to struggle with weight. No reason to be shy.

My fitness level too has improved. We had an absolute blast walking all over the city of Chicago on a team building event. Kind of like participating in an episode of The Amazing Race. 2.5 hours to solve puzzles, find locations in the city, take photos or purchase gum…even wrap up a teammate as a mummy. This past spring I was someone who would be winded climbing a flight of stairs, and I had no problem rushing around the city for a couple hours.

I handled the food situation fairly well. Passed by the muffins, bagels and croissants for breakfast, and ate 2 hard boiled eggs and a banana. Used portion control at the lunch buffet. Skipped the chips and the pasta, ate more of the salad. But when I was hobnobbing at cocktail hour…and there were chocolate covered strawberries, and these amazing fruit torts…well…I enjoyed 5 or 6 of them…or 10. Totally worth it. Logged what I ate with MyFitnessPal and only went over my calories that one day.

My wife achieved a terrific milestone this week as well. She is no longer obese. I still have 25lbs to go before reaching that milestone. Way to go honey!

You can listen to the Less of Lee Podcast that goes with this post.

Leave a Reply

Categories

