Posted by: leebase | September 24, 2012

100lbs Less of Lee and Wife

My wife and I hit a nice milestone this week, together we have lost 100lbs, 60 for me and 40 for her. I’m so proud of the progress she has made, and she is looking fantastic. Her partnership in this journey has made my own road so much easier and more enjoyable.

Until the very last day, I was actually frustrated. Last week I did not lose any weight, even though earlier that week I had been down 4lbs. I traveled this week, so couldn’t weigh myself until Saturday morning, and I was actually up a few ounces. Once again the scale was refusing to show the progress my actions had deserved. I thought I was in for my first two week stall, but on Sunday, I was down 3lbs.

This is where the Weight Watchers “it’s a lifestyle, not a diet” mantra comes in. Or should, if I could actually adopt it. This is how I eat, this is how I exercise. What I do, I do for health, not for this week’s scale. Yep, that’s what I’m supposed to be telling myself. And I do, but I’m not always such a good listener to the things I tell myself.

I’ve been making decent progress in transitioning to low carb. I have a couple days a week with 60ish grams of carbs. Other days in the 100 range, and usually at least one that would cause me to be kicked out of the low carb clubs.

I finished the book “The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living” by Phinney. It’s not a “how to low carb” diet book. For that, read “The New Atkins for a New You“, also by Phinney. The Science book is more about covering the latest science on low carb diets, and answering critics. It’s a book a doctor might read, or geeks like me, or just anyone who likes to know there is real science behind their choices.

One of the advantages to low carb eating is that I am less hungry between meals. When I am tempted to eat Oreo cookies or Doritos or Pizza, I remind myself that they will make me deal with hunger. And then I ate them all this week anyway…but kept within my calorie goals. I did tell you that I don’t always listen to myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

