Posted by: leebase | December 3, 2012

No Longer Obese

ObeseBeforeAfterI reached a major milestone this past week, I am no longer obese.   When I started this journey seven and a half months ago, I was morbidly obese at 309lbs.  I am now merely over weight at 233lbs for 76lbs Less of Lee.  My belly was 55” and is now 44.25”.

The quality of my life has improved.  I no longer have trouble breathing in my sleep and no longer take anti-anxiety meds to help me go to sleep.  I no longer take Pepcid or Tums for heart burn.  Normal daily activities do not cause me to break out in a sweat.  And recently, I noticed that my feet no longer hurt.  I take far fewer naps and I exercise every day.

My clothes were XXL-Tall.  I no longer have to shop in the Big and Tall stores as I’m down to XL.  I’ve had to buy new belts and then do so again as I’ve gone from 48 to 38 in belt size.

I’ve gone from couch potato to running 3 miles for the first time in my life.  I’m training for a 5K.  I’ve also embarked on a “100 pushups” training regimen.  I can’t even do one “real” pushup yet, but I’m doing 35 incline pushups.  Most importantly, I’m beginning to see myself as an active person and really believing that I can become fit.

It starts with a decision.  Weight loss is as much mental as anything else.  I used to fantasize about winning the lottery and being able to afford to go to a “Biggest Loser” type fat camp.  If only I could afford the time and money to do such a thing, I could lose weight.   Like Dorothy, I had the secret with me the entire time.  No need for Ruby Slippers or winning lottery ticket.

I talk about the “Lottery Mindset” in this podcast.

There is psychology involved in losing weight, it’s not just about diet and exercise.  I talk about that concept in this podcast.

Finding people you can relate to and be inspired by is important.  Sometimes the Jillian Michaels of the world, those fit and thin athlete types are just intimidating and seem unreal.  Yet I’ve picked up a few online friendships with triathlon athletes via my interview on the Vinnie Tortorich show.  They’ve been where I am.  Overweight couch potatoes before embarking on their own journey.  I talk about this in a podcast as well.

If it seems like I celebrate a lot — it’s because I do.  I purposefully set forth milestones, lots of milestones to keep me striving forward and feeling successful.  Crossing out of obesity counts as a major milestone.  It has me feeling terrific and empowered.  Put I press onward.  Coming up soon with be the 25% Less of Lee milestone…the 80lbs less of Lee milestone.   Farther down the road is the 100lbs Less of Lee milestone and entering Onederland.

Tweet me @TheLeeBase

Responses

  1. Awesome! It’s a great feeling no longer having that label, isn’t it?

    • It’s great not to be endangering my health!

  2. congrats Lee!! Very glad to have connected with you via Vinnie and am cheering you on for your 5k and pushups!!!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Like your site as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

