Posted by: leebase | December 31, 2012

The Year That Was 2012 In Fitness

RandLWalkI had no New Year’s resolutions for fitness when 2012 started. I had no notion that I was going to embark on my journey to be Less of Lee. I was 309lbs with a 55” waist and climbing a flight of stairs would make me short of breath. Bending down under my desk to plug in my computer would cause me to break out in a sweat.

When I started my journey to health I threw in “and fitness”….you know…because you are supposed to. I could not run. I could not touch my toes. I could not do a single pushup. I got one of those “resistance bands” and tried to do something like P90…but I couldn’t make it through the warm up of the video on the first day.

So I walked. Then walked faster. Then walked longer. I walked and I walked and I walked. I walked when young fit people jogged by me. I walked as a lady my age blew by me. I walked as an old granny passed me by on the trails.

Eventually I started a “Couch 2 5K” training program. I just got back from running 5k (3.1miles) outside on those same trails where grannies ran past me this spring. For the first time (outside), I ran for 3.1 miles, no stopping, no walking.

I’ve been working on my pushups. I started with pushups against a wall, then on the stairs, then on the lower stairs. I can now do 5 “real” pushups….or 50 pushups on the second to the bottom stair.

To top it off, I touched my toes for the first time that I can remember. Bending over, not bending my knees…and actually touching my toes!

2012 has been a remarkable turn around in fitness for me. I look forward to even better in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

