Posted by: leebase | April 24, 2024

Power in the Maximum Effort

I added extensions to my PowerBlock dumbbells. They now go to 70lbs each instead of just 50. So I dropped back to 5 sets of 5 with 110lbs for my squats. Progressive overload can be achieved by adding more weight or more volume (weight x sets x reps). The key is having at least the last set be at or near failure. It’s that maximum effort that pushes your body to adapt.

For the last set I kept going until I couldn’t – 20 reps. That was HARD, my heart was pounding. I hit zone 5 in my heart rate. For a few seconds anyway.

It’s supposed to be hard. Hard is good when you’ve built up to it. At this point all my lifting is hard. Hard doesn’t get harder, nor easier. What you can do at near maximum effort changes. Sometimes less, sometimes more. Assuredly more over time. But the “this is hard”, once you’ve worked up to that level – that stays the same.

Hard is ok. You can do hard things. Engaging in hard shapes your body, builds your health, makes you resilient, regains and increases abilities.

There is no set amount that is “what I need to do”. It’s not 15 minutes of walking, nor an hour. It’s not 10,000 steps a day nor lifting for 30 minutes 3 times a week.

It’s maximum effort. Not every moment of every day – but at least a couple times a week. That is – if you want to keep improving. To improve you must do more.

How much more? A little more.

How much farther? A bit farther.

Always.

That’s how you go from walking with a cane and struggling with stairs to squatting for 2 tons in one workout.

p.s.  Always consult your own health team for your specific needs

p.p.s. Educate yourself to fully participate in your health strategy 


Leave a comment

Categories