Posted by: leebase | April 27, 2024

Saturday Push Day – 1st Birthday

It was my grandson’s 1st birthday today. More than a few things were eaten “Off plan”. It was a fun and exhausting day hosting family and friends.

But to start the day off – time to go out for a run and push myself. The first five minutes I wanted to quit. I just didn’t “feel it”. I kept running anyway. And kept running. By the time I stopped, my heart rate hit zone 5. I walked a bit and then did several rounds of sprints. And walked the mile and a half back home.

It’s been awhile since I peaked into zone 5 (90-100% of max) several times during a workout. Push day accomplished.

The chart in the photo is about power/watts. Being a fatty , it takes a lot of force to get this body moving. The power zones go to 7 and as I was sprinting, I was well into zone 7. It’s kind of a way to measure WHAT you are accomplishing physically similar to the volumes of weights lifted (weight x sets x reps). Heart rate lets you know how your heart is dealing with the physical effort.

I’ve come a long way from walking with a cane for 15 minutes. I got here by doing more and going farther.

How much more? A little more.

How much farther? A bit farther.

Always.

3 years and counting in my health recovery journey.

p.s.  Always consult your own health team for your specific needs

p.p.s. Educate yourself to fully participate in your health strategy 


Leave a comment

Categories