Posted by: leebase | April 13, 2024

Saturday Push Day – Health Takes Time

I’m out running and getting my heart rate up close to 95%. It’s my weekly push day. Finding ways to push that bit harder and go that small amount further.

I had someone on my mind who had asked “what can I do about this terrible pain?”. She was experiencing an arthritic flare up. My heart went out to her, but I have no instant fix helps to offer. The same is true for those moments when someone’s blood sugar is super high.

I’m coming up on three years of this journey to rebuild my health and reclaim abilities. I was highly diabetic and my arthritic knees had me walking with a cane and driving with a handicap sticker. I had to arrange a wheel chair and someone to push me to get across an airport in time to catch a connecting flight.

Now I’m off all diabetes meds and my A1c is normal, not even pre-diabetic. I’m out on a Saturday running and sprinting. But these improvements didn’t happen in a day.

From the beginning I aimed at getting healthy and fit. I didn’t try to just get low blood sugar readings or relief from arthritis pain. I didn’t even know that where I am today was going to be possible.

I had to change what I eat to remove the sugars and carbs. But those changes didn’t all happen in a day. Intermittent fasting and then multi day fasts started with not snacking after dinner. I couldn’t run, I couldn’t do high intensity cardio. I walked with my cane for 15 minutes.

I started where EVERYONE starts. I started where I was, and then made progress. But I kept on making progress, piling change upon change.

I got here by doing more and going farther.

How much more? A little more.

How much farther? A bit farther.

Always.

I have much more to go and I’m eager to get there. I want rid of all the excess fat. I want to build muscles, to have guns and legs that pop.

I am building my body. It just takes time. There is no pill or shot you can take to build your body. You earn it day by day.

p.s.  Always consult your own health team for your specific needs

p.p.s. Educate yourself to fully participate in your health strategy 


Leave a comment

Categories